The Main Chance

Sunday: After my vacation of doing nothing, my mom straightened me out and encouraged me to get into school again.
 
Monday: It was the first day back at my intersection (I had to sprint to my morning bus, which had come late and made me think I missed it).  Between shifts I went to BYU, scheduled old counselor Troy Selk for Tuesday, and asked some naive questions at the "pre-professional" (law and medical) advisement office.  The bus broke down on our way back, and a replacement came.  After work I went to LDSBC and happened to see Leah Tsiame asking her religion teacher for a grade change.  I found out that there is a 30-day limit after the semester ends before which grades can, yes, be changed.  I met Petra there.
 
Tuesday: The bus going to BYU was hindered by snowy roads, and I arrived about 25 minutes after my 10:30 appointment.  Still, I could’ve only taken 5 minutes, but everybody had already gone to the devotional.  I left perturbed, catching the same bus I’d rode in on.  Before work I went to LDSBC and spoke with Mable and Monde — separately, as they have developed a deepening rift.  I found Karen Dunkley, my business writing teacher, and explained my ungraded work to her.  Not hesitating to accept the work, she calculated that I should have gotten a 95.87% instead of a 91.87%, and she willingly signed the grade change request form (A- to A) to deliver later.  At night, I gave Monde a ride to her stake centre in my mom’s truck.
 
Wednesday: I went to LDSBC between shifts, ate with Leah, and tracked down James Christensen, my other English teacher, to ask him about my strangely deducted "participation" points.  A former fellow classmate had told me just earlier that his grade in that class had also been mistaken.  Brother Christensen was completely receptive, agreeing that the deduction probably had been erroneous.  He hastily refigured my grade as above 82%, up from the previous 78.11% and slightly higher than my calculation.  Either way, the unusual C grade would rightly become a B-.  He said he would drop off the form on his way downstairs and home.  Later, I happened to overhear a lady student in the institute office asking about her missing purse.  I met up with her and tried to help her find it.  She thought I worked there and was supposed to be helping her on account of my uniform.  I took advantage of the ruse, interrupting two classes to ask if they’d seen the purse.  We turned up nothing till she reviewed her schedule and realised she’d been in a different class than the one we’d thought.  There the purse was, sitting on the table as the next class went on around it.  Her keys were inside, and she was able to go fetch her friend to deliver her to the airport.  After that, I went to the 4th floor and did part of an online assessment about career plans.  After work was a dental appointment to fill two cavities.
 
Thursday: I came home between shifts.  After the second shift, I returned again and was pushed again by Dave to call the car morticians — he’s been fussing about it since it died, and more determinedly during the winter break (on the other hand, I’d lost motivation to dispose of the body when metal prices started dropping after October).  I made the call, and the man on the line this time agreed to $80 for the car (at least a hundred less than it had been worth four months ago).  He came and towed it away…  My dear car is now gone.
 
I still have to make another appointment with Troy Selk, this time with an updated GPA of 3.74 instead of 3.69.  The girls at LDSBC’s 2nd floor said the changes should be made no later than Friday.  I’ve made a tentative decision to attempt to pursue pediatrics, with a real major of either English teaching, a language, or something else.  I’ll still apply to Idaho, anyway, along with Provo, and I’ll still plan to go in fall unless I absolutely can’t travel, in which case I’ll likely go in spring.  It’s still possible to consider the U of U, I guess.  If Provo, then I’m against busing there daily.  I’ll search for a job and get living quarters there.
 
-Steve
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Main Chance

  1. 雪梨 says:

    Brother steve,you have a beautiful mind ^_^ when I read you helped that girl find her purse~and will you go to Idaho?

  2. Steve says:

    Tao Sensei, many people share that type of helpful beauty, including you. I probably will go to Provo, a nearby city in my state of Utah. The factors are: Will the Provo school accept me? Does Provo have the subject I want, or does Idaho? I\’ll get the answers probably this week…

Leave a Reply

