2009/01/17 S – Kau Chim

[Kau4 Chim1 求籤 (“cast [ask] lots”) is the Chinese practice of stick-shaking, one of many forms of fortune-seeking once widely practiced in Hong Kong and elsewhere.  It’s done by putting a group of thin, flat sticks in a tall cup and tipping and shaking it till one falls out; the fallen stick indicates the spiritual communication or selection, and may need further interpretation, which may include tossing blocks (dice) or consulting the industry professionals.]

More very mundane, very interesting days pass.  Lots of meetings.  I’ve met a lady at work, 선미.  On Wednesday I met Rekha Selvaratnam’s brother on the bus to Provo.  I talked with admissions counselor Kelly Jensen (Troy Selk was sick) and academic advisor Jim Burton.  Miss Jensen advised me to go ahead and apply to both Provo and Idaho.  I met a young man (who looked quite like Harry Potter) there who was interested in languages, especially Arabic and Chinese.  On the bus home, I met and talked long with Anneliz Lopez.  Coming home from work, I met a man and woman from Baghdad and then an older couple and a younger woman from……. Chengdu, right.  On Thursday I returned to the dentist to ask about my bothersome filling, and he shaved it down a bit.  Yesterday there was an unsound older man on the bus who kept imposing himself on a Taiwan girl.  I think I was able to distract him respectfully… so that was a partial success…  Visiting school, I finally got my grade changes finished (the A- request form had gotten lost or something) and my transcripts sent to those two schools.  There was no mention made of a grade-change deadline, which would’ve been last Monday.  While I was at the library, Benta’s daughter Mia came, and I met her.  She is studying pre-medical courses.  I also met… Katherine(?) there, a Temple Square RM from Sweden who is exchanging here for only a semester, and earlier… Mei Yun(?) from Malaysia.

While researching Mongolia in the library, I came across some language schools and “guest houses” and things, and decided to definitely go there and return for fall semester (Tugsuu had appeared days earlier and asked if I was going).

I’ve narrowed my choices down to either the International Relations or the Micro (or Molecular) Biology (pre-medical) major, if I get in to Provo.  They both appear to be my strengths and interests — time will tell how well I take to them in school.  I seem to have set aside my idea for a TESOL minor and formal study of Korean or another language.  Well, I’d do either or both if I studied IR, but I’m leaning toward the other one.  As it has turned out, I have no family to feed.  If at all possible, I’ll try studying them all…  “Get as much education as you can,” and that.

Let’s see.  Seventy G. Homer Durham, a lifelong academic, inserted this obvious practicality to the doctrine over 2 decades ago, speaking of the formal classroom:

“Get as much education as you can afford — and profit by.  The world needs no ‘professional students’ but workers, and the time must come for students to get out of the academy and serve.

“The benefit of education to the individual is unquestionable, and the benefit to society is enormous.  We need trained people who can think straight and do the work of the world and the Church.  Whether this requires a lot of education or a little depends on the individual’s needs and the direction in which he is going.  But one of the great glories of this church is its support of education.”

-Steve

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2009/01/17 S – Kau Chim

  1. 雪梨 says:

    ^_^ brother steve,it seems that you are predestined to know so many Asians。

  2. Steve says:

    …But Secretary Tao, I’m not sure if there’s any real purpose to it… ;| But I’ll try to do my best.

  3. 雪梨 says:

    Secretary Tao o(∩_∩)o.. hey ,I just meant it’s good to meet so many Asians

Leave a Reply

