2010/01 – Meetings

I spent a nice, long weekend at home.  While boarding the bus to Provo on Tuesday morning, I met a Korean sister.  I’ve pretty much forgotten her name by now, unless it was Ji-yeon.  She works at the Cannon Center, which I realized I’ve seen her at before.  On the same bus, I met a Zack or Zach Chan, a Macau native, older than I am, who’s finishing some course of study at UVU.
 
Yesterday, I met Petra at the library.  That night, I admitted to myself that I wanted to see her again…  She was on my mind for part of today.
 
Some days ago, I became one of several dozen students to be interviewed by the assistants of a certain professor who is measuring the "attitudes toward dating" of BYU students.  I haven’t felt representational of BYU students, and my radical anti-speed-dating, anti-predatorial views might be exaggerated in this sampling.  Anyway, they had asked, and I had agreed.
 
One of their questions was about the last "date" I had, or thing that could be considered a "date".  After defining "dating" as hanging out with somebody you were interested in, I decided that it was the bus ride I shared with Petra last year…  After that, they framed many of their other questions in reference to her…  One thing I mentioned to them was that I might feel hesitant to settle down if doing so presented an interruption of my life plans…
 
I slept in this morning, having stayed up last night talking mostly to Stetson.  Although I missed two for-credit classes, it was for the good cause of gospelizing.
 
I went to the ELC at about 3:00 to meet my Korean study buddies.  While there, I ran into "Ged" (or "Kate"), the teacher from Thailand.  She expressed again that she might be willing to help me out with Thai.  I guess I’ll see her on Monday when I next go there.  The Koreans were Hwa-young, Eun-young, and Jeong-yeon.  We seemed to have a nice time.  They can use the time to fulfill some of their class requirements of talking to English-speakers.  Soon I’ll go home and wait to meet Hideto…  The Viet girl, Thao ("Jasmine"), came to her senses and e-mailed me that she’d be too busy this week.  I gave an open-ended reply, but I don’t really expect to meet with her next week either.  I think my Thai might surpass my Viet before long.
 
I went late to Mandarin.  Afterward, I saw Petra again and accompanied her to class.
 
Two times I’ve seen McMurtree, an elder I knew in Mongolia.
 
-Steve
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2010/01 – Meetings

  1. Thankful says:

    Hmm, if settling down refers to marriage/family, should not that be at the top of the list for "life plans"? Very curious…

  2. Steve says:

    Thanks for exploiting that loophole. Ha ha.The questions, though, are, what ought a person sacrifice for the benefit of family, and what actually is a benefit to the family. Depending on whether the family already exists or not, the questions will be addressed very differently.In either case, the first question focuses more on the selfishness of the person involved…If the family is only a potentiality of the future and more or less totally undefined, the second question is difficult to answer. Any direction you go might take you unwittingly in the opposite direction of that unknown future family. In my case, after having decided on a general setting for a career (teaching abroad), to "settle down" here would pretty much be to unemploy and impoverish myself, which may not promote a family at all, either in its formation or its sustenance.Looking forward, though, I also would hesitate to "settle down" even in a foreign country before my travel expectations had been realized. Of course, that would throw me back on the first question.

  3. Thankful says:

    Hence, we see that there is no \’black and white\’ neither \’crystal ball\’ in this instance, all the while the sands of time keep on a tickin\’ and potential opportunities are ever changing 😉

  4. Hannah says:

    mandarin? are u learning?

  5. Steve says:

    Only when I have time to make the class. I plan to forget most of it, though.

Leave a Reply

