2010/02/01, Monday

After catching some of the second and all of the third t.v.-version Matrix movies last night, I woke up late today.  (Stetson and Ezra had been there for part of the last movie).  My dream this morning had been full of Nazi warfare.  I’d just finished stealing some fuel for a little plane we had (also stolen, I think) when I regained consciousness.
 
I’ve skipped my language classes so far today.  I need to free up some time this week…
 
 
I came to school and found that some virus had accessed my Facebook account and offensively spammed some of my contacts.  I felt a bit like Jacob, who, preaching against vulgarity, felt grieved because his message might "enlarge the wounds of those who are already wounded, instead of consoling and healing their wounds; and those who have not been wounded, instead of feasting upon the pleasing word of God have daggers placed to pierce their souls and wound their delicate minds."  I deleted the messages from the various pages, but they’ll still be sitting there in the inboxes of whomever got posted at.
 
I was also concerned about damaged social relationships.  Fortunately, I’ve all ready gone through that before in Hong Kong, and I didn’t seem to care this time about what people assumed, even my relatives.
 
The reality is, Facebook is going the way of the world, the way of MySpace.  They purchased their own downfall a long time ago, bound together with their popularity.  I predict they’ll continue to get messier and buggier.
 
The troubling thing about this incident is that I can’t pin it to any recent vulnerable activity.  Either my e-mail was harvested from some public resource, or it was saved earlier.
 
 
I went to the race-based ward yesterday.  I was heartened to hear the bishop acknowledge that some in the audience might have different bishops than him — but he perhaps was only thinking of the future bishops of his current members.  Last night, on Stetson Hallam’s repeated admonition, we four gathered to bless and "dedicate" our apartment.  I hadn’t been enthusiastic about it, but it seemed to be a good experience.
 
 
A week or two ago, I read an article that there had been "incidents" with the deers on campus and that they had been relocated for their safety.  (Most likely the incidents were just reported sightings, unless they refered to accidents I wasn’t aware of — and if so, it was because of drivers around here who speed even though their road judgement and reaction time are dopily poor.)  The next day, I saw deers again at the deer hill, but I’m not sure if I’ve seen them since then.  I had seen them at least once every few days in the first part of the month.  Studying amongst wildlife was nice while it lasted.  (I do continue to see the large "arahkun" loitering at the deer hill drain.  He ran into the drain when I stopped to look at him, but he stayed when I kept going.)
 
 
My non-selection as an online teacher was confirmed today.
 
 
Bee reconnected with me recently.  I carry a somewhat different orientation toward her now that I’ve finally started to study her language.
 
-Steve
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2010/02/01, Monday

  1. Thankful says:

    If it\’s any consolation, I got \’spammed\’ through two other contacts on facebook too… and with you being the third, well actually the first of the three, but all on the same day and all within 2 minutes of each other…it was more than enough for me to deactivate my facebook account. No loss to anyone, as I am willfully neglectful of my account anyway.

  2. Steve says:

    That is a consolation.

Leave a Reply

