2010/02 – Southridge

I just found this old story about my Provo apartment, Southridge, from the summer of 2004: http://newsnet.byu.edu/story.cfm/51333
 
Mostly, it’s complaints about maintenance.  There were some critical electrical issues…
 
I’ve been at Southridge since autumn of last year.  I scouted it back in spring.  I was interested mostly in its proximity; I also checked some other places.  This one, I think, was the cheapest, and was available.
 
When I moved in to number 14, my roommate was Ezra Smith from Washington, and the other room had Braden Price from Colorado and Scott Thalman.  Scott was engaged to be married.  He rarely talked to me and was frequently gone, and within two months he had moved out.  Eric Freeman from Layton moved in.  He was nice enough, but soon he followed Scott’s lead.  His December replacement was Stetson Hallam from Lehi.  Braden switched to apartment #7 for the winter semester; he was replaced by J.D. Bradshaw.  I have gotten along progressively better with them.
 
Six years after that story (which of course made it seem like the building was about to fall down), things seem to be going very well.  We have had several maintenance concerns there in #14.  I was made to fill out a survey of what was wrong with the apartment when I moved in.  I reported what I saw: damaged carpet, broken window sill, slightly dirty walls…  I forget exactly what else.  They were all minor.
 
Sometime during the autumn, Braden complained to me of his broken drawer.  I think I was the one who went and reported it.  In a couple of days, a man came and replaced it.  Later, the same man and some others came and looked at the carpet.  Within a week, it had been torn up and replaced: the living room and the stairs and upper hall (the carpets in the rooms remained, and were not damaged anyway).  Our food chopper in the sink stopped working, and after we reported it, it was fixed.
 
Just last week, I reported three more problems: the toilet plug in the tank was loose and didn’t work well; the faucet in our room had started leaking; and the ceiling in the dining space, between the living room (on the east, with the window) and the kitchen (by the door), had two holes poked in it (by my mistake) because it had a hollow area above it.  The next day, all three had been repaired by the same maintenance man (an older Russian guy), along with our sink light being replaced.
 
What have I seen, living here, six years after that article?
 
Responsiveness.  I have no complaints whatsoever.  Beside that, the price apparently hasn’t gone up in six years.
 
My flatmates are generally happy, but sometimes complain about things… little things.  They talk about how old the apartment is… how old the couches are… and so on.
 
I can’t understand those comments at all.  I would count myself very lucky if I could always have shelter as good as this, wherever I went in the world.
 
But apart from that, I see what they do every day, running and jumping up and down the stairs, swinging on the stair rails, sleeping and walking on the furniture, slamming and pounding and throwing things, scattering food and crumbs all over, treating the place like they own it, like they’re not going to move out in a few months and leave it to another guy, and another after him, and a hundred after them.
 
I wonder sometimes…
 
…what business a person has talking about the oldness of something, when it’s him treating it roughly and making it old.
 
Anyway, aside from this property immaturity, I find them especially mature, and I’m glad to live with them.  They could be a little better, but a great lot worse.  I guess I could too.
 
Southridge?
 
The kids in that article said they couldn’t wait to leave.  They liked it for the "ward" (everybody there is defaulted into the same ward, which I don’t attend), and because it’s close to the school, but they whined over its decrepitude.
 
I don’t know how much has changed and how much has stayed the same… but I can’t imagine finding anywhere I’d like better.  I’ve already signed up to stay for the duration of my study.  Soon, it will be by contract.
 
-Steve

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

