2011/05/31 T – Facebooklet

Yesterday was a day of observance; without really knowing, I decided that the school would be closed.  Today, I struggled to finish my portion of our group paper in the BYU Salt Lake library, which was to do some graphical work.  I didn’t finish till part-way into our class period.  My other group members, Rachel Heath and… Julia Tucker, were in contact with me on-line from their portable computers in class.  They let me know they had already done some of the graphics theirselves. >_<  Effort wasted…

Beside that, they weren’t having luck accessing our document on-line to print, and had finalised a separate version on their own computer.  The textual changes I had also been making were, therefore, inapplicable.  I soon gave up and retired to the class room.  Fortunately, a single image of mine (a map) was still able to be incorporated (there was also a separate map I’d made earlier, plus two data charts that had been done by them instead and were nearly identical to the ones I’d made).  I didn’t have enough time for that second map, and its hasty design was obvious, I think.

I’m not sure about these spring-term and summer-term writing classes.  It doesn’t seem reasonable to force people to throw together significant papers in a week.  I’ll be glad to pass this class and set it aside.  I had enrolled in equivalent classes… three times before; two of them, I had remained enrolled in for some time into the semester.  Both of those quickly started hammering me with dead-lines; the first, I withdrew from on my own, and the second, my teacher nudged me out of.  I’ve come to recognise that my talent is not to vomit out pages and pages of abstract written text to meet some sudden, arbitrary dead-line… to construct meaningless arguments to prove some nothing to my non-audience, some class teacher who doesn’t care in the first place, and only wants to habitualise us to some writing conventions.

If it’s a real argument, I can write it in a real-life way.  If it has meaning, I can spit out thousands of characters without duress…  But these writing classes are kind of like… forcing people to… design and construct houses very quickly, only to examine and then knock down the houses afterward.  It’s a tremendous and non-real waste of energy…

Well, I think there’s only one more assignment… the big research paper.

Have you read long articles and papers?  They’re pretty much books.  They ramble on and on and on and on, from one topic to another, hopefully tied to some larger theme that, any way, rarely truly matters; they make point after point after point, never condensing or summarising, except in repetition.  They repeat every idea several times, stretching them out a little each time, like slowly blowing up a balloon.  It’s painful to read them.  If you’re going to throw time away, you’re about as well off just staring at the scenery outside the window.

Linear things, I like.  Journals and things…

Any way, now I need to think of some stupid idea to waste more time proving to nobody, referencing earlier proofs.

I’m wondering why this is considered ‘education’…  Learning to communicate for its own sake — not to actually exchange anything of import, but simply to talk, without even a listener — is not education.  The ideas are the things of worth, not their vessels…

Today I went for the first time to the new Ito apartment after class, and had a nice hour or two there, as always.  I’d dropped Dan off once before after his “Michigan Test” at Tatsu’s school, Internexus, close to the city library.  I had to go message them from that library first to ask their apartment number.  On the way inside their building, I crossed paths with a guy named Yuki, a youngish Japanese from Seattle, new in the city for business.

On the train coming home, I heard some white kid say he was going to Korea.  He was sitting with three young Korean guys.  I talked to him when he came and looked at the map behind me.  After that, he went and told his friends that I “talked Korean”, and they came over and questioned me a bit.  Unfortunately, I was just then preparing to de-board.

I saw a middle-aged Korean girl at the bus stop, whom I circled back on my bike to talk to.  It was a very difficult conversation, as she was quite new with English, which she was here studying, hoping to become a nurse.  Kim Yeon-hee was her name.  Soon before her bus came, another bus unloaded some passengers, including a guy, Elliot, a traveller packing a rice hat, whom I’d met once riding up 39th South.  We also talked a little; then he got on the same 41 as that Korean sister.

Over at my bus stop, I talked to the Latino-coloured but accentless guy waiting there, “Derek”.  He had injured his hand recently; he was on his way back home from a basketball game with friends (played with his other hand).  Later up the route, a crossing guard got on the bus; I’d seen him once before.  He may have been around my age.  His name was Michael; he was white.  He got paid 9.90 per hour by Murray City, and also had another job.  He recently gained a new son, whom he chose to name… Kaleo Michael Hercules.  The first name, he claimed, was Hawaiian for “the voice”; he apparently had grown up there.

Back at home, I finally talked again with Kim Hyunjoo, who was busy.  I’ve also spoken with Bat-erdene, a Mongolian I some-how met on-line a while ago.  These nights, I usually talk to… either my friend Yiu (or “Kate”) who is back in Australia and who seems to be doing better these days, “Yuki”, a GZ girl, or “Jing”, a girl from some-where in China.  Fan some-times talks, as does Munkhgerel, a girl I once introduced to Stetson, and my Chinese-Malaysian friend “Irene”.  Dear Bomie occasionally leaves a welcome greeting, as does Calvin Tsui, amidst his many difficulties, and Erica Sit, the cutish, Catholickish Hong Kong girl who once solicited our home.  Huong, a Vietnamese friend of mine, and Filipina Jonie rarely communicate any more…

-Steve

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2011/05/31 T – Facebooklet

  1. Icha says:

    I agree with you, it is painful to read a long article. Unless the article discusses something I like, I mostly will skip it.
    Anyway, I like the way you write your journals..I wish I could write a good journal too.

  2. agkcrbs says:

    Yeah, I also wish I could write a good one for a change. All I can do any more is gossip. I think your thousands of followers are somewhat satisfied with your posts, though.

  3. Icha says:

    Thank you for your comment which is very insightful. I learn something from that.
    You seem very intelligent and religious.
    Btw, I am not English speaker. I just post any article I found interesting. I don’t create them. But, you do produce a kind of good quality journals. Your blog is far much better than mine.

    • agkcrbs says:

      That makes me more curious about how you have such perfect English on Twitter. It’s fortunate to be able to master another language.

      Even your collection of interests is a ‘creation’ that people close to you will value. I think one of the many benefits of keeping some kind of record of the details of our lives, even if we are the only readers, is that it makes us think a little more carefully, from day to day, about whether our lives and choices are worthy of recording; it makes us search a little more deeply for any meaning behind our experiences; and it leaves us increasingly grateful that we, amidst all sorrows, have been given so many chances for joy and upward movement.

Leave a Reply

